Southwest Iowa Planning Council
Southwest Iowa Planning Council

Southwest Iowa Housing Trust Fund

The Southwest Iowa Housing Trust Fund, Inc. was created in 2006 with a mission to "improve affordable housing options in southwest Iowa." We currently assist over 100 homes with over $1.5 million in funding each year. We continue to address housing needs in the counties of Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, and Shelby.


Our services fall into the following areas:


Housing Repairs to address health, safety, and energy efficient deficiencies in owner-occupied homes. We currently maintain a lengthy waiting list. Most common work items are roofs, furnaces, and windows.


Homeownership Assistance to help lower income households purchase their own home. The assistance is in the form of 5-year forgivable loans and low interest loans.

Demolition of blighted properties removes dilapidated homes from the housing stock. The home must be city owned.  The program will pay for 50% of asbestos inspection and removal and demolition costs.

Southwest Iowa Housing Trust Fund Board of Directors

Stephanie Bowden Mills County
Sherri Clark Montgomery County
Grace Garrett Cass County / SWIPCO
Kelly Mahlberg Shelby County
Renee Riedel Page County
Trent Svendsen Shelby County
Debbie Waterbury Cass County
Dr. Mike Wells

Fremont County

Vacant Position  Vacant Position 


Currently, there is one board vacancy. If you are a concerned community member in Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, or Shelby county with a passion for housing, please send an email to to inquire about serving!

SWIPCO is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.


Southwest Iowa Planning Council, 1501 SW 7th St., Atlantic, Iowa, 50022

712-243-4196 or 1-866-279-4720; Fax 712-243-3458;