Southwest Iowa Planning Council
Southwest Iowa Planning Council

About Southwest Iowa Planning Council

Southwest Iowa Planning Council was formed in 1975. Our goal is to promote regional cooperation as well as to serve the counties and cities within our region with community and economic development activities to improve the quality of life for all of southwest Iowa.


We are governed by a 17 member Policy Council, which includes one supervisor from each county board, six citizens who are appointed by the county boards, and three at-large members that are selected by the Policy Council. These members represent business, education, human services, economic development, etc.


The Policy Council is designed to provide a strong communication link between SWIPCO and the residents of Southwest Iowa. This channel of communication and the support of our member governments helps to keep SWIPCO aware and responsive to our members' needs and concerns.

SWIPCO serves eight counties in southwest Iowa and their municipalities. Pottawattamie and Mills counties are also members of the Metropolitan Area Planning Agency (MAPA), based in Omaha.


SWIPCO manages Regional Planning Affiliate (RPA) 13 which includes Cass, Fremont, Montgomery, and Page counties. RPAs are designated through the Iowa Department of Transportation to provide regional transportation planning services.


Every 5 years, SWIPCO completes a Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) planning process. The CEDS region consists of Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Montgomery, Shelby, and Page counties. The CEDS serves as a plan for regional economic development and guides economic prosperity and resiliency in the region.


SWIPCO is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.


Southwest Iowa Planning Council, 1501 SW 7th St., Atlantic, Iowa, 50022

712-243-4196 or 1-866-279-4720; Fax 712-243-3458;